•  
  •  
 

About This Journal

The International Journal of Transpersonal Studies (IJTS) is a semi-annual peer-reviewed academic journal publishing on topics in transpersonal and whole person approaches to psychology and related fields such as sociology, anthropology, medicine, psychiatry, psychotherapy, education, leadership, feminist thought, culturally-situated psychologies, world religions, and spirituality, among others. IJTS is read in more than 190 countries, papers are published with doi numbers, and the impact factor for the journal is 0.13 for 2017. The journal has been in print since 1981, and its readership is reflected in more than 50,000 article downloads per year by over 10,000 users.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

The journal is sponsored by the California Institute of Integral Studies (CIIS), a university internationally recognized as a leader in integral and transpersonal education, research, and scholarship.

Upcoming Special Topics:

(Dates are estimates only and may change)

Spiritual Awakening — 2018 Kelly Kilrea kkilrea@ustpaul.ca

Transpersonal Sexuality — 2019 Marie Thouin mariethouin@gmail.com

Myth, Dream and Imagination — 2019 Helena Daly helenacdaly@gmail.com

Integral and Transpersonal Education — 2020 Heidi Fraser-Hagemann hfraser@ciis.edu

Participatory Research — 2020 Olga Sohmer olgasohmer@gmail.com

Alchemy, Transformation, and the Future Human — 2020 Stephen Julich sjulich@ciis.edu

Integral and Transpersonal Psychotherapy — 2020 Rene Dumetz rdumetz@ciis.edu and Sergio Rodriguez-Castillo srodriguez-castillo@ciis.edu

Transpersonal Philosophy — 2021 Michael Da michael@michaelda.com

Feminist Perspectives in Transpersonal Psychology — 2021 Kendra Diaz-Ford kdiaz-ford@ciis.edu

Contemplative Psychotherapy — 2022 Sasha Strong sasha@sashastrong.com

Transpersonal Psychology in Community Praxis — 2022 Ben Bjorgaard bbjorgaard@gmail.com

History

The International Journal of Transpersonal Studies (IJTS) was founded in 1981 by Don Diespecker, an Australian transpersonal psychologist and psychology professor. The journal first appeared as the Australian Journal of Transpersonal Psychology and retained this name through 1992. In 1993, the journal began publication under its current name, and in 1998 the International Journal of Transpersonal Studies moved to the University of Hawaii, where it was housed until 2002 under the editorship of Philippe Gross and Sam Shapiro. IJTS was then acquired by Saybrook Graduate School (now Saybrook University), where it was published from 2003 until 2006 under the editorship of Harris Friedman and Doug MacDonald.

More recently, a private nonprofit organization, Floraglades Foundation, has acquired and published IJTS, under the editorship of Harris Friedman and Glenn Hartelius through 2009, and since 2010 under the editorship of Glenn Hartelius.

In 2010, IJTS was selected as the official publication of the International Transpersonal Association (ITA), and in 2015 it gained the sponsorship of the California Institute of Integral Studies (CIIS). In 2016 the journal moved to the current website on the Digital Commons institutional repository of CIIS, which permits enhanced capabilities.

Editors: Don Diespecker, 1981–1984 (New South Wales, Australia) Gerard Allen, 1985–1989 (Australia) Don Diespecker, 1990–1991 (New South Wales, Australia) Don Chipley & Erin Neill, 1992–1993 (Queensland, Australia) Erin Neill, 1993–1997 (Queensland, Australia) Philippe Gross & Sam Shapiro, 1998–2002 (Hawaii, USA) Harris Friedman & Douglas A. MacDonald, 2003–2006 (California, USA) Harris Friedman & Glenn Hartelius, 2007–2009 (Florida, USA) Glenn Hartelius, 2010–Current (California, USA)

See the Aims and Scope for more complete coverage of the journal.