•  
  •  
 

About This Journal

The International Journal of Transpersonal Studies (IJTS) is a semi-annual peer-reviewed academic journal publishing on topics in transpersonal and whole person approaches to psychology and related fields such as sociology, anthropology, medicine, psychiatry, psychotherapy, education, leadership, feminist thought, culturally-situated psychologies, world religions, and spirituality, among others. IJTS is read in more than 175 countries, papers are published with doi numbers, and the impact factor for the journal is 0.13 for 2017. The journal has been in print since 1981, and its readership is reflected in more than 50,000 article downloads per year.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

The journal is sponsored by the California Institute of Integral Studies (CIIS), a university internationally recognized as a leader in integral and transpersonal education, research, and scholarship.

Upcoming Special Topics:

Spiritual Awakening — 2018 Kelly Kilrea kkilrea@ustpaul.ca

Integral and Transpersonal Education — 2018 Heidi Fraser-Hagemann hfraser@ciis.edu

Transpersonal Sexuality — 2019 Marie Thouin mariethouin@gmail.com

Participatory Research — 2019 Olga Sohmer olgasohmer@gmail.com

Myth, Dream and Imagination — 2019 Helena Daly helenacdaly@gmail.com

Alchemy, Transformation, and the Future Human — 2020 Stephen Julich sjulich@ciis.edu

Integral and Transpersonal Psychotherapy — 2020 Sergio Rodriguez-Castillo srodriguez-castillo@ciis.edu

History

The International Journal of Transpersonal Studies (IJTS) was founded in 1981 by Don Diespecker, an Australian transpersonal psychologist and psychology professor. The journal first appeared as the Australian Journal of Transpersonal Psychology and retained this name through 1993. In 1994, the journal began publication under its current name at the University of Hawaii, where it was housed until 2002 under the editorship of Philippe Gross and Sam Shapiro. IJTS was then acquired by Saybrook Graduate School (now Saybrook University), where it was published from 2003 until 2006 under the editorship of Harris Friedman—a core faculty member at that school—and Doug MacDonald.

More recently, a private nonprofit organization, Floraglades Foundation, has acquired and published IJTS, under the editorship of Harris Friedman and Glenn Hartelius until 2010, and since then under the editorship of Glenn Hartelius.

In 2010, IJTS was selected as the official publication of the International Transpersonal Association (ITA), and in 2015 it gained the sponsorship of the California Institute of Integral Studies (CIIS). In 2016 the journal moved to the current website on the Digital Commons institutional repository of CIIS, which permits enhanced capabilities.

See the Aims and Scope for more complete coverage of the journal.